About BEROSE

BEROSE is an international encyclopaedia of the history of anthropological and ethnological sciences. With an international scientific committee, fifteen research teams and a constantly expanding network of contributors from all continents, BEROSE is an open access digital humanities project that promotes high-quality open science. Its website can be browsed in English and French. As a scientific publisher (ISSN 2648-2770), BEROSE regularly publishes new encyclopaedic articles in several languages (French, English, Spanish, Portuguese, German and Italian) throughout the year; these are peer-reviewed by the directors and the scientific team.

BEROSE is supported by French partners and scientific institutions (Ministry of Culture, IIAC-CNRS-EHESS) and hosted by Huma-Num, a Very Large Research Infrastructure (“Très Grande Infrastructure de Recherche”, TGIR) in the field of digital humanities, thus ensuring the sustainability of its operations and content. In addition to the articles in the encyclopaedia, BEROSE publishes an e-book series, Les Carnets de Bérose (ISSN 2266-1964), which reflects the vitality of research in the history of anthropology; and organizes scientific meetings (BEROSE meetings). These publications and events are announced to subscribers worldwide via a quarterly newsletter (visit the home page to subscribe).

Pluralization of the history of anthropology

As its title suggests, BEROSE International Encyclopaedia of the Histories of Anthropology reflects the diversity of the learned traditions concerned. This begets designations as diverse as ethnology or folklore, Völkerkunde and Volkskunde in the Germanic countries, the Italian word demologia or the Greek laography. Many other linguistic and intellectual variations exist within a science of Man that has undergone many transformations and evolutions in time and space, the objects of study of which changed significantly during the 20th century. One of BEROSE’s ambitions is to produce a thorough genealogy of a science which is sensitive, from its beginnings, to different figures of Otherness: first of all, cultures and societies which are supposedly “exotic” or non-European, but also the European peasantry, the men and women of the “people”, minorities of all kinds and the marginal layers of so-called modern societies. The powerful idea of Otherness also includes the alleged “first men” – the legendary “primitive” –, and the “Last Ones”, that is, those world-individuals who were witnesses of a culture in the process of disappearing. The aim is to attend to the very great diversity of moments, discourses and places that favoured the emergence of ethnographic knowledge and the clarification of what was deemed to constitute the uniqueness of each culture. The construction of nation-states, particularly in the 18th and 19th centuries, and the consolidation of imperial or colonial powers that further threatened human diversity led to considerable social and cultural reshapings, to new hybrid and syncretic configurations that kept challenging scholarly obsessions with cultural purity, along with aspirations for authenticity and claims to identity. Several time frames clash – and working on the history of anthropology is a good way of reflecting on an anthropology of history and the differentiated cultural memories that are built as a result of these epoch changes and upheavals.

Anthropological discourses on human differences are spread across several fronts, whether the erudite curiosity of antiquarians, the pragmatic endeavours of government or colonial officials, or missionary enterprises combining both a destructive and a salvaging dimension. The debates taking place in literary, artistic and scientific circles also have to be taken into account, often fuelled by the discovery of ’prehistoric’, ’folk’ and ’primitive’ arts. The emerging disciplines of history, philology, comparative mythology, linguistics, psychology, sociology, archaeology, law and religious sciences were also shaken in their epistemological foundations by the consideration of ethnographic materials from around the world. The construction of an encyclopaedic project like BEROSE, by its very nature inexhaustible, follows and mirrors the protean aspect of its subject of study. With its call for renewed ways of writing the history of the discipline, this project is based on the conviction commonly shared by anthropologists that there is no single anthropology but a wide range of scholarly traditions and that their respective histories and challenges are also multiple.

The awareness of these plural histories is also based on the fact that they are written by researchers from various disciplinary backgrounds, with complementary, sometimes divergent and conflicting ambitions and approaches: whether social and cultural anthropologists or indigenous researchers; whether representatives of influential traditions or marginalized ones, along with philosophers, historians of science, historians of art and photography, museum curators, etc.

The pluralization of the history of anthropology claimed by BEROSE makes it possible to highlight the past richness of World Anthropologies, which are often ignored, underestimated or forgotten in hegemonic circles. BEROSE contributes to this necessary pluralization and feminization as a challenge that concerns not only the “history-less anthropologies” – to use Esteban Krotz’s expression about the “Southern anthropologies” that rarely appear in Western handbooks – but also for Western or Northern anthropologies. Indeed, these are sometimes reduced to a monolithic vision of the most famous theoretical currents and to some major figures, thus masking the wealth of national anthropological traditions and the vitality of specializations in cultural, geographical or thematic areas. Without neglecting the so-called “major” traditions, British and French, Germanic and North American, BEROSE puts them into perspective and contextualizes the construction of their respective histories. The aim is to multiply the alternative reference points, whether they come from the “South”, from so-called peripheral countries or whether they act as a counterweight to the West: from Cuba to Vietnam, from Turkey to Benin, from Japan to Ukraine... Eurocentric visions of history as well as radical post-colonial critiques can be challenged by the (re)discovery of older exchanges and flows of knowledge and by the reconstitution of complex scholarly practices and entangled genealogies. These histories can reveal the successive globalizations of anthropology – of anthropologies – in a sense that is never unique, univocal or teleological.

The very variety of historiographical approaches, towards deconstruction or reconstruction, mixing presentism and historicism, is a tribute to the creativity and dynamism of the research carried out within the framework of BEROSE by contributors from various disciplinary fields. With no chronological limits, BEROSE encyclopaedia seeks to identify numerous anthropological projects for the interpretation and comparison of human diversity, including the textual, visual and sound recording of cultural worlds which were considered archaic and therefore threatened with extinction or irreversible transformations. But anthropological knowledge was also a search for the similarities and even for universal aspects, common to all mankind. The explanation of what constitutes the singularity of each group, society or culture has its counterpart in the multiple comparative projects that are scattered across the histories of anthropology. The ideological contextualization of these contrasting undertakings, including those marked by racism or other convictions of radical difference, colonialism and imperial projects, is also one of the objectives of the authors of BEROSE – without forgetting the historicization of the postcolonial transformations of the discipline. Aware that anthropological and ethnographic archives are currently of burning importance, they write both a history of anthropology and an anthropology of history that concern the cultural past as a contemporary construction. Research in this field affects present and future claims for cultural or ethnic identity; it concerns cultural appropriations and aspirations to authenticity, to tradition, to ancestral roots. The histories of anthropology are far from being neutral scientific operations. They are likely to raise controversial issues, within and outside the discipline, and they bring with them a reflection on power, particularly on the articulation of power/knowledge. From humanistic anthropology to Indigenous ethnologies, they often bespeak the commitments of their practitioners. Anthropologists themselves have a very ambivalent relationship with the past of their discipline.

The encyclopaedic form itself is likely to be reinvented in the digital age, allowing the cohabitation and accumulation of different histories and textual genres, from classic encyclopaedic entries to original essays. The vertiginous spatial-temporal variety of BEROSE’s articles finally allows us to question the criteria of what is modern or pre-modern, anachronistic or visionary, colonial or postcolonial. Our goal is to better distinguish and characterize the ramifications of anthropology and its thematic and ideological metamorphoses. The researchers contributing to BEROSE identify unsuspected circulations, continuities and ruptures between various anthropological traditions – and this continues into the historicization of contemporary production. As a collective, interdisciplinary and international programme, BEROSE welcomes contributions that revisit not only the vast universe of anthropological thought with its networks of learned sociability, but also the many ethnographic and historical contexts involved, thus questioning the contemporary cultural value and political significance of Indigenous and local legacies.

A gallery of portraits

The articles in the encyclopaedia concern first of all the many actors in the history of anthropology: amateur or professional ethnographers and their interlocutors in the field; armchair theorists or agents of missionary and colonial endeavours; collectors and museologists; Indigenous intellectuals and anthropologists who claimed a mixed identity; scholars from literary and artistic circles, etc.

The banner of BEROSE’s website presents a gallery of seven portraits that alone reveals the ambition to broaden the historical imagination of the discipline. An inevitably debatable, even provocative choice, where the most obvious and unavoidable protagonists, such as Franz Boas, Bronislaw Malinowski or Marcel Mauss, give way to more unexpected characters. First on the left, the portrait of the draftsman, traveller and ethnographer Gaston Vuillier (1845-1915) is representative in itself of an alternative history of French anthropology, composed of many other figures excluded from the dominant historiographical accounts and whose works intrigue us, whether they concern the local traditions of Merlin the Wizard or the figure of Jesus Christ, the wild bestiary of France or the oral literature of Brittany and other Celtic countries. Then there is the German ethnologist Leo Frobenius (1873-1938), the American anthropologist Cora Dubois (1903-1991), the Australian Aboriginal ethnographer David Unaipon (1872-1967), the French sociologist Robert Hertz (1881-1915), the African-American anthropologist Zora Neale Hurston (1891-1960) and the inimitable Scottish anthropologist and folklorist Andrew Lang (1844-1912).

All national anthropological traditions and all currents, be they hegemonic or pushed to the margins, are concerned with this expansion, by the feminization of disciplinary memory, by the recovery of dialogues or tensions between the classical protagonists and the forgotten, sometimes cursed figures. In BEROSE, the foreground is shared; no selection criteria exclude a priori the creation of new entries devoted to “minor” anthropologists who might have difficulty finding their place in a stricter, more conventional encyclopaedia or dictionary published on paper. Whether they are unknown or recognized, BEROSE highlights a myriad of actors. Without neglecting the major anthropologists of the 20th century, from Claude Lévi-Strauss to Sydney Mintz, the encyclopaedia wishes to reserve an important place for the interlocutors of ethnographers in the field and for all kinds of “excluded ancestors”, a category that includes many original characters. Among these are Anglophones such as the New Zealand ethnographer Elsdon Best or the English folklorist Rachel Busk, or figures absent from dominant genealogies or whose importance is only just beginning to be appreciated. That is the case, for example, of 18th century German historian Gerhard Friedrich Müller, the very “inventor” of ethnography as a scholarly activity during Russian expeditions to Siberia; another example is Max Schmidt, the precursor of modern ethnographic methods in South America.

A surprise box

The articles in the encyclopaedia also cover anthropological journals and institutions, as well as a new category created from January 2019: anthropological themes, concepts and traditions. Each biographical or historical article appears in a topical dossier containing complementary articles or digital resources on the same subject, such as PDFs from primary and secondary sources, iconographic documents, links to other platforms, etc. The philosophy of the BEROSE website combines, on the one hand, the simplicity of the structure and navigation and, on the other hand, the richness of the documentary files. Here are two examples:

The article « A Revolutionary Anthropologist Before His Time: Intellectual Biography of Edward Westermarck » (2018), by Andrew Lyons, appears in the topical dossier on the anthropologist of Finnish origin Edward Westermarck (1862-1939), often forgotten, or reduced to the status of Malinowski’s master at the London School of Economics. He combined an evolutionary sensibility of Darwinian influence with bold views on a number of subjects, such as marriage, feminism and sexuality, including homosexuality, making him an unexpected precursor of ethical relativism and the subject of several reappraisals. This topical dossier gives access to more than a dozen monographs, including several on Morocco, resulting from his intensive field work, or his magnum opus, Origin and Development of the Moral Ideas, published in 1906-1908.

The article « Biographie de Lydia Cabrera, conteuse, folkloriste et anthropologue "noire et blanche" » (2018), by Carmen Ortiz García, appears in the topical dossier on Lydia Cabrera (1899-1891), a white woman with no anthropological training, but who is recognized as having a singular place among the founders of Afro-Cuban studies thanks to the profound dialogue with her informants. Her books form the basis of a humanist knowledge, inseparable from the experiences of Afro-descendants in Cuba and the Caribbean in general. This topical dossier provides access, among other resources, to the University of Miami Libraries website and in particular to the “Lydia Cabrera Papers”, including digitized resources (manuscripts and field notes, letters, original drawings and photographs, etc.).

The topical dossiers can be consulted either in alphabetical order – which is useful for users who know very precisely what they are looking for – or by “ethnographic context” or “knowledge production centre”. These criteria are useful for users who are not looking for a specific dossier, but who want to know about new figures or institutions through BEROSE, which is one of the attractions of the encyclopaedia. Indeed, BEROSE contains treasures, including many collections that have been fully digitized as part of a partnership with the French National Library (Bibliothèque nationale de France). BEROSE is both a box of surprises and a reference tool, thanks to the promise of unlimited expansion and the assurance that the theoretical debates to come will consolidate the importance of the histories of anthropology archives.

History of BEROSE

The original meaning of the acronym BEROSE is “Base d’Études et de Recherches sur l’Organisation des Savoirs Ethnographiques”, but it refers above all to a paradigm of anthropological knowledge – the paradigm of “the Last Ones”. As explained above, this expression refers to those world-individuals who decide to transmit to strangers the mysteries of their own culture that they think is disappearing. It was coined by Daniel Fabre, inspired by the figure of the Babylonian priest Berossus, a “last one” who wrote the Babyloniaca in the fourth century BCE. (See Claudie Voisenat’s article, « What does BEROSE mean ? Daniel Fabre and the paradigm of the last ones ».)

Created in 2006 by Claudie Voisenat (Ministry of Culture, IIAC-LAHIC), Jean-Christophe Monferran (CNRS, IIAC-LAHIC) and directed from 2008 by Daniel Fabre (EHESS, IIAC-LAHIC), the programme has been directed since November 2016 by Christine Laurière (CNRS, IIAC-LAHIC) and Frederico Delgado Rosa (NOVA University of Lisbon, CRIA). Funded by the ANR (French National Research Agency) between 2008 and 2012, it receives essential support, in terms of financing and human resources, from the Office of Heritage/Department of Piloting Research and Scientific Policy (Ministry of Culture, France) and also from the IIAC (UMR 8177, EHESS-CNRS). Originally focused on the history of French folklore and ethnology, with a European comparative dimension, BEROSE acquired an international encyclopaedic ambition with the redesign of the website by the new management team in June 2017, accentuated by the implementation of English as a browsing language in October 2019.

To contact us: berose.encyclopedie@gmail.com

Christine Laurière and Frederico Delgado Rosa

Présentation

Bérose est une encyclopédie internationale des histoires de l’anthropologie. Doté d’un conseil scientifique international, d’une quinzaine d’équipes de recherche et d’un réseau de contributeurs en expansion constante provenant de tous les continents, Bérose est un projet d’humanités numériques en libre accès, partisan d’une science ouverte de qualité. Son site internet est navigable en français et en anglais. Éditeur scientifique (ISSN 2648-2770), Bérose publie régulièrement, tout au long de l’année, des articles encyclopédiques en plusieurs langues (français, anglais, espagnol, portugais, allemand et italien), qui ont fait l’objet d’une évaluation par les directeurs et l’équipe scientifique.

Soutenu par des partenaires et des institutions scientifiques français (Ministère de la Culture, IIAC-CNRS-EHESS), Bérose est hébergé par Huma-Num, très grande infrastructure de recherche dans le domaine des humanités numériques, qui assure la pérennité de son fonctionnement et de ses contenus. Outre les articles de l’encyclopédie, Bérose publie une collection d’ouvrages numériques inédits, Les Carnets de Bérose (ISSN 2266-1964) qui reflètent la vitalité de la recherche en histoire de l’anthropologie, et organise des rencontres scientifiques (rencontres Bérose). L’annonce de ces publications et événements est diffusée dans le monde entier aux abonnés par une newsletter trimestrielle (on peut s’abonner sur la page d’accueil).

La pluralisation de l’histoire de l’anthropologie

Comme le suggère son titre, Bérose, Encyclopédie internationale des histoires de l’anthropologie, décline ce passé disciplinaire au pluriel, pour refléter la diversité, tout d’abord terminologique, des traditions savantes concernées, telles que l’ethnologie ou le folklore, la Völkerkunde et la Volkskunde des pays germaniques ou encore la demologia italienne, la laographie grecque et tant d’autres variations linguistiques et intellectuelles au sein d’une science de l’Homme qui a connu de très nombreuses transformations et évolutions dans le temps et dans l’espace, et dont les objets d’étude ont singulièrement changé au cours du XXe siècle. L’une des ambitions de Bérose est de produire une généalogie fine d’une science sensible, dès ses origines, aux différentes figures de l’altérité : les cultures et sociétés prétendument « exotiques », extra-européennes, les paysans ou encore les pauvres, les hommes et les femmes du « peuple », les minorités de toute sorte, les couches marginales des sociétés dites modernes, les « premiers » hommes et les « derniers » hommes (ces individus-monde, témoins d’une culture en train de disparaître). Le propos est d’être attentif à la très grande diversité des moments, des discours et des lieux de curiosité, d’émergence des savoirs ethnographiques – pensés comme savoirs des différences – et d’explicitation de ce qui constitue la singularité de chaque culture tandis que s’affirment, aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles, la construction des États-Nations et la consolidation des puissances impériales, coloniales, qui laminent la diversité humaine et culturelle, favorisent encore davantage des recompositions sociales et culturelles inédites, des métissages et des syncrétismes mettant au défi les obsessions savantes pour la pureté culturelle, questionnant les aspirations à l’authenticité et les revendications identitaires. Plusieurs temporalités s’affrontent et s’entrechoquent – travailler sur l’histoire de l’anthropologie, c’est bien réfléchir à une anthropologie de l’histoire et des mémoires culturelles différenciées qui se construisent à la faveur de ces changements d’époques et de ces bouleversements.

Ces savoirs qui pensent, construisent et raisonnent les différences se déploient sur plusieurs fronts : de la curiosité érudite aux sciences de gouvernement, y compris colonial, en passant par les entreprises de réforme missionnaire et religieuse ; de la description des débats qui agitent les milieux littéraires, artistiques et scientifiques découvrant les arts préhistoriques, les arts prétendument populaires ou primitifs, aux disciplines naissantes que sont, au XIXe siècle et au tournant du XXe, l’histoire, la philologie, la mythologie comparée, la linguistique, la psychologie, la sociologie, l’archéologie, le droit, les sciences des religions, ébranlées dans leurs assises épistémologiques par la prise en compte des matériaux ethnographiques du monde entier. La construction d’un projet encyclopédique comme Bérose, par nature inépuisable, accompagne et reflète l’aspect protéiforme de son objet d’étude. Revendiquant une pratique et une écriture renouvelée de l’histoire de la discipline, ce projet scientifique s’appuie sur la conviction communément partagée par les anthropologues qu’il n’existe pas une seule anthropologie mais un large éventail de traditions savantes et que leurs histoires respectives, leurs enjeux, sont également multiples.

La pluralisation de l’histoire de l’anthropologie que revendique Bérose permet également de mettre en exergue la richesse et le passé de ces anthropologies du monde ou World Anthropologies souvent ignorées, minorées ou oubliées dans les cercles hégémoniques. Bérose contribue à cette pluralisation – et féminisation – nécessaire de l’histoire de l’anthropologie, qui est un enjeu non seulement pour ces « anthropologies sans histoire » – selon l’expression d’Esteban Krotz à propos des « anthropologies du Sud » qui figurent rarement dans les manuels occidentaux – mais aussi pour les anthropologies occidentales elles-mêmes, réduites parfois à une vision monolithique des courants théoriques les plus célèbres et à quelques grandes figures masquant la richesse des champs anthropologiques nationaux et la vitalité des spécialisations en aires culturelles, géographiques ou thématiques. Sans pour autant négliger les traditions dites « majeures », britannique et française, germanique et états-unienne, il s’agit de mettre en perspective et contextualiser la construction de leurs histoires respectives et de multiplier les points de repère alternatifs, qu’ils proviennent du « Sud », de pays soi-disant périphériques ou agissant comme des contrepoids à l’Occident : de Cuba au Vietnam, de la Turquie au Bénin, du Japon à l’Ukraine... Les visions de l’histoire eurocentriques comme les critiques post-coloniales radicales peuvent être mises en question par la (re)découverte d’échanges et de circulations de savoirs et de pratiques savantes complexes, de généalogies enchevêtrées, pouvant révéler les différentes mondialisations successives de l’anthropologie – des anthropologies – dans un sens qui n’est jamais unique, univoque ni téléologique.

La conscience de ces histoires plurielles s’appuie aussi sur le fait que des chercheurs d’horizons disciplinaires variés, aux ambitions et approches complémentaires, parfois divergentes, conflictuelles, contribuent à leur connaissance et à leur écriture : anthropologues sociaux et culturels ; représentants des traditions anthropologiques « hégémoniques » comme de celles dites « périphériques » ou « du Sud » ; chercheurs autochtones (indigenous researchers) ; épistémologues et philosophes ; historiens et historiens des sciences ; muséologues et historiens de l’art et de la photographie, etc. La variété même des approches historiographiques, enclines à déconstruire ou reconstruire, mêlant présentisme et historicisme, reflète la créativité et le dynamisme de la recherche menée dans le cadre de Bérose par des contributeurs d’horizons disciplinaires variés.

Sans bornes chronologiques, l’encyclopédie Bérose cherche à repérer les lieux et les moments d’émergence des questionnements anthropologiques, des projets d’interprétation et de comparaison de la diversité humaine, d’enregistrement textuel, visuel et sonore de mondes culturels jugés archaïques, menacés d’extinction ou de transformations irréversibles. Ces savoirs des différences s’intéressent aussi aux similitudes voire à la part d’universel commune à l’Homme ‒ l’explicitation de ce qui constitue la singularité de chaque groupe, société ou culture, étant indissociable des multiples projets comparatistes qui parsèment les histoires de l’anthropologie. La contextualisation de ces entreprises sur le plan idéologique, y compris celles marquées par le racisme ou d’autres convictions de différence radicale, par le colonialisme et les projets impériaux, compte également parmi les objectifs des auteurs de Bérose – sans pour autant oublier l’historicisation des transformations postcoloniales de la discipline. Attentifs à l’actualité brûlante des archives, ils développent un travail sur l’histoire de l’anthropologie et l’anthropologie de l’histoire qui concerne le passé culturel en tant que construction contemporaine, dans le présent et pour l’avenir des affirmations identitaires, des appropriations culturelles différenciées, des aspirations à l’authenticité qui se revendiquent de la tradition et de l’ancestralité. Les histoires de l’anthropologie sont loin d’être des opérations scientifiques neutres. Elles sont susceptibles de réveiller des questions polémiques, au sein et hors de la discipline, et elles charrient avec elles une réflexion sur les rapports de domination, sur l’articulation pouvoir/savoir. De l’anthropologie humaniste aux ethnologies indigènes, elles reflètent souvent les engagements de leurs praticiens. Les anthropologues eux-mêmes entretiennent un rapport très ambivalent avec le passé de leur discipline.

La forme encyclopédique est elle-même susceptible d’être réinventée à l’âge du numérique, autorisant la cohabitation et l’accumulation d’histoires et de genres textuels différents, de la notice encyclopédique classique à l’essai original. La vertigineuse variété spatio-temporelle des articles de Bérose permet enfin de questionner les critères de ce qui est moderne ou prémoderne, anachronique ou visionnaire, colonial ou postcolonial. Il s’agit de mieux distinguer et caractériser les ramifications de l’anthropologie, ses métamorphoses thématiques et idéologiques. Les chercheurs contribuant à Bérose repèrent à la fois des continuités et des ruptures entre les traditions disciplinaires anthropologiques mais aussi des circulations insoupçonnées ‒ et ce jusqu’à l’historicisation de la production contemporaine. En tant que programme collectif, interdisciplinaire et international, Bérose accueille des contributions qui revisitent non seulement le vaste univers de la pensée anthropologique avec ses réseaux de sociabilité savante, mais aussi les nombreux contextes ethnographiques et historiques impliqués, interrogeant la valeur et le sens contemporains, patrimoniaux et politiques, des héritages autochtones.

Une galerie de portraits

Les articles de l’encyclopédie concernent tout d’abord les nombreux acteurs de l’histoire de l’anthropologie : les ethnographes amateurs ou professionnels et leurs interlocuteurs sur le terrain ; les théoriciens en chambre ou les agents d’entreprises missionnaires et coloniales ; les collectionneurs et les muséologues ; les intellectuels indigènes et les anthropologues qui revendiquent une identité métisse ; les érudits issus de milieux littéraires et artistiques, etc.

Le cartouche du site internet de Bérose présente une galerie de sept portraits qui trahit à elle seule l’ambition d’élargir l’imaginaire historique de la discipline. Un choix inévitablement discutable, voire provocateur, où les protagonistes les plus évidents et incontournables, tels un Franz Boas, un Bronislaw Malinowski ou un Marcel Mauss, cèdent la place à des personnages plus inattendus. En première position à gauche, le portrait du dessinateur, voyageur et ethnographe Gaston Vuillier (1845-1915) est représentatif à lui seul d’une autre histoire de l’anthropologie française, composée de bien d’autres figures exclues des récits historiographiques dominants et dont les travaux intriguent, qu’ils concernent les traditions locales de Merlin l’Enchanteur ou la figure de Jésus-Christ, le bestiaire sauvage de la France, la littérature orale de la Bretagne et d’autres pays celtes. Puis on trouve l’ethnologue allemand Leo Frobenius (1873-1938), l’anthropologue états-unienne Cora Dubois (1903-1991), l’ethnographe aborigène australien David Unaipon (1872-1967), le sociologue français Robert Hertz (1881-1915), l’anthropologue africaine-américaine Zora Neale Hurston (1891-1960) et l’inimitable anthropologue et folkloriste écossais Andrew Lang (1844-1912).

Toutes les traditions anthropologiques nationales et tous les courants, fussent-ils hégémoniques ou repoussés vers les marges, sont concernés par cet élargissement, par la féminisation de la mémoire disciplinaire, par la récupération des dialogues ou des tensions entre les protagonistes classiques et les figures oubliées, parfois maudites. Dans Bérose, l’avant-scène est partagée ; aucun critère de sélection n’exclut a priori la création de nouvelles entrées consacrées à des anthropologues dits « mineurs » qui pourraient avoir du mal à trouver leur place dans une encyclopédie ou un dictionnaire plus strict, plus conventionnel, publié sur papier. Qu’ils soient méconnus ou reconnus, Bérose met en exergue une myriade d’acteurs. Sans négliger les anthropologues majeurs du XXe siècle, d’un Claude Lévi-Strauss à un Sydney Mintz, l’encyclopédie souhaite réserver une place importante aux interlocuteurs des ethnographes sur le terrain et à toute sorte d’« ancêtres exclus », une catégorie qui recouvre des personnages originaux, y compris anglophones, tels l’ethnographe néo-zélandais Elsdon Best ou la folkloriste anglaise Rachel Busk, ou encore des figures absentes des généalogies dominantes ou dont on commence à peine à mesurer l’importance, comme « l’inventeur » même de l’ethnographie en tant qu’activité savante, l’historien allemand du XVIIIe siècle Gerhard Friedrich Müller, lors des expéditions russes en Sibérie, ou le précurseur des méthodes ethnographiques modernes en Amérique du Sud, Max Schmidt.

Une boîte à surprises

Les articles de l’encyclopédie concernent aussi des revues et des institutions, ou bien encore une nouvelle catégorie créée en janvier 2019 : thèmes, concepts et traditions anthropologiques. Chaque article biographique ou historique intègre un dossier documentaire où l’on peut trouver des articles complémentaires ou encore des ressources numériques sur le même sujet, telles que des PDF de sources primaires et secondaires, des documents iconographiques, des liens vers d’autres plateformes, etc. La philosophie du site internet de Bérose conjugue, d’une part, la simplicité de la structure et de la navigation et, d’autre part, la richesse des dossiers documentaires. En voici deux exemples :

L’article « A Revolutionary Anthropologist Before His Time: Intellectual Biography of Edward Westermarck » (2018), par Andrew Lyons, intègre le dossier documentaire consacré à l’anthropologue d’origine finnoise Edward Westermarck (1862-1939), figure souvent oubliée, ou réduite au statut de maître de Malinowski à la London School of Economics, qui combinait une sensibilité évolutionniste, d’influence darwinienne, avec des vues audacieuses sur un certain nombre de sujets, tels le mariage, le féminisme, la sexualité, y compris l’homosexualité, ce qui fait de lui un précurseur inattendu du relativisme éthique et l’objet de plusieurs réappréciations. Ce dossier documentaire donne accès notamment à plus d’une dizaine de monographies, dont plusieurs sur le Maroc, issues de son travail de terrain intensif, ou encore son magnum opus, Origin and Development of the Moral Ideas, publié en 1906-1908.

L’article « Biographie de Lydia Cabrera, conteuse, folkloriste et anthropologue "noire et blanche" » (2018), par Carmen Ortiz García, intègre le dossier documentaire consacré à Lydia Cabrera (1899-1891), femme blanche dépourvue de formation anthropologique mais qui se voit aujourd’hui reconnaître une place singulière parmi les fondateurs des études afro-cubaines grâce au dialogue, profond, avec ses informateurs, ses livres formant le socle d’un savoir humaniste, indissociable du vécu des afro-descendants de Cuba et des Caraïbes en général. Ce dossier documentaire donne accès, entre autres ressources, au site des University of Miami Libraries et notamment aux "Lydia Cabrera Papers", comprenant des ressources numérisées (manuscrits et notes de terrain, lettres, dessins originaux et photographies...).

Les dossiers documentaires sont consultables soit par ordre alphabétique ‒ ce qui est utile pour les utilisateurs qui savent très précisément ce qu’ils recherchent ‒ soit par « contextes ethnographiques abordés » ou encore par « centre de production du savoir ». Ces critères sont utiles aux utilisateurs qui ne recherchent pas un dossier spécifique, mais qui souhaitent connaître de nouvelles figures ou institutions à travers Bérose, ce qui est l’un des attraits de l’encyclopédie. En effet, Bérose contient des trésors, y compris de nombreuses collections intégralement numérisées dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec la Bibliothèque nationale de France. À la fois boîte à surprises et outil de référence, Bérose l’est aussi par la promesse d’expansion illimitée et l’assurance que les débats théoriques à venir imposeront l’importance des archives des histoires de l’anthropologie.

Historique

L’acronyme Bérose signifie : « Base d’études et de recherches sur l’organisation des savoirs ethnographiques » mais il fait surtout référence à un paradigme de connaissance anthropologique – le paradigme « des Derniers », ces individus-monde qui décident de transmettre à des étrangers les arcanes de leur propre culture qu’ils pensent en voie de disparition – mis au jour par Daniel Fabre, construit sur le modèle du prêtre babylonien Bérose, un « dernier » qui rédigea les Babyloniaca au IVe siècle avant J.C. (Voir l’article de Claudie Voisenat, « Que signifie Bérose ? Daniel Fabre et le paradigme des derniers »)

Créé en 2006 par Claudie Voisenat (ministère de la culture, IIAC-LAHIC), Jean-Christophe Monferran (CNRS, IIAC-LAHIC), dirigé à partir de 2008 par Daniel Fabre (EHESS, IIAC-LAHIC), le programme est dirigé depuis novembre 2016 par Christine Laurière (CNRS, IIAC-LAHIC) et Frederico Delgado Rosa (Université NOVA de Lisbonne, CRIA). Financé par l’ANR (Agence nationale de la recherche) entre 2008 et 2012, il bénéficie du soutien essentiel, en termes financiers et en ressources humaines, du département du pilotage de la recherche et de la politique scientifique (DPRPS) du ministère de la Culture et également du IIAC (UMR 8177, EHESS-CNRS). Originellement centré sur l’histoire du folklore et de l’ethnologie de la France, avec une dimension comparative européenne, Bérose a acquis une ambition encyclopédique internationale avec la refonte du site internet par la nouvelle équipe de direction, en juin 2017, accentuée par la mise en place de l’anglais comme langue de navigation en octobre 2019.

Pour nous contacter : berose.encyclopedie@gmail.com

Christine Laurière et Frederico Delgado Rosa